The idea of setting up an official national body to represent Plastic Surgeons in Singapore was first conceived as early as 1975 in the Department of Plastic Surgery of the Singapore General Hospital by Drs Wong Kum Leng, R Sundarason, Lee Seng Teik, Chan Chi Chin and Chua Keng Cheok.

The name of the Association was chosen to be in line with then established associations such as the British Association of Plastic Surgeons and other societies within the Commonwealth. Right from the onset, it was decided that the association should be independent and not affiliated to other local medical bodies.

The Constitution was drawn up to reflect the needs and aspirations of Plastic Surgeons in Singapore.  Formal registration of the Association was sought with the Registry of Societies, Ministry of Home Affairs. The Association was accepted for official registration on 7 July 1976, marking a new era in the development of Plastic Surgery in Singapore. The registration was published in the government gazette on 16 July 1976 as notification number 2236.

Starting initially with four founder members, the society has grown from strength to strength over the past 28 years.

The Singapore Society of Cosmetic (Aesthetic) Surgeons was formed 3 years later in 1979 with a primary focus on developing the field of cosmetic and aesthetic plastic surgery in Singapore.